An Official Diagnosis

I have had my follow up from the Eating Disorder Service.

They agree and have now made it official that I have Binge Eating Disorder. I feel fairly calm about it all, I have been on this journey for over a year so any other diagnosis may have been a surprise.

What happens now?

Well I have been offered a group therapy session starting in a few months. Apparently this is quick as the waiting list for one to one sessions is a year! That makes me think two things 1. There are many more people suffering with eating disorders than we realise. 2. They are severly underfunded!

The sessions will be a small group and I look forward to attending. Having this blog and social media has taught me company will aid my recovery.

The other thing I would like to say is this…After all my worries and stress, asking for help and taking it has been the best thing I could have done. If you know you’re struggling and want to get better don’t be afraid to take that step. Facing a little fear has to be better than letting your disordered eating continue to rule and ruin your life. I was so concerned I wouldn’t meet the criteria for help and that was washed away within minutes of meeting them. It wasn’t a case of me being scrutinised to see if I was ‘actually ill enough’, they listened, were compassionate and very reassuring. I am now in the best place I have ever been and couldn’t be more grateful to those that have helped change my life.

2 thoughts on “An Official Diagnosis

Please feel free to share your experinces & thoughts.

