At This Time Of Year Remember, You Are Important Too

image

Christmas is such a special time for so many. We plan, shop and fill our calendar to bursting. For me it is my favourite time of year but also the most difficult. A true contradiction if ever there were one….

If this journey has taught me anything, it is to look after myself. If I could give one piece of advice to anyone reading it would be just that…look after you!

A strong trait in many people I meet with ED is that we put ourselves last and do things because we ‘should’. Give yourself permission to stop, not make that visit to someone who makes you feel bad or change your plans to what will make you happy. For the first time ever I have done that this year and it will make for a much happier time for me. We all deserve to be happy and don’t have to be a slave to FOG (fear, obligation and guilt).

New years resolutions are often made to fit in with ideals others have for us. I have lost count of the years I made plans to exercise myself silly and stop eating anything that had more calories than air. After all, if I lost weight next year I’d be more acceptable at the Christmas parties, right? Well no it’s absolutely not!

We all know how it ends, weeks later surrounded by wrappers or take out cartons and self loathing drapped over us like a familiar coat. We don’t have to do it anymore. This year I wanted to make changes and I have. Some of my goals have changed and it has been tough at times. What I have learnt is that the only goal we should set ourselves is to be happy. Don’t focus on the food or clothes labels as this will always take you full circle to ED. When you have worked out what makes you happy then you are likely to find the outward symptoms may start to reduce. It’s no quick fix but it’s the only one that will work long term. What harm can learning to love yourself do?

Please feel free to share your experinces & thoughts.

