F*** the Media: When will the promotion of unrealistic Hollywood beauty ideals end?

So much in this blog post that joe public could do with reading. I agree with everything and sadly started out the same way. I wanted to fit in and have ‘that’ body. It’s hasn’t got me anywhere positive. Yet the cycle is still being created now, it’s frustrating and deeply unhealthy.

Thick Girls Can

Kirstie My mom enjoys reading People Magazine these days and it just happened to be sitting on the counter as I was eating breakfast this morning. I decided to open it up and flip through a few pages; not gonna lie, I do like my celebrity gossip fix, it’s a way of getting out of my own mind for a little while. Then I landed on page 24. “Kirtsie Alley: ‘I’ve Gained 30 Lbs'” is the headline in massive lettering. The following paragraph and images take up more than half the page. In the article, Kirtstie tells the mag about how she wants people to think she’s pretty, how she wants to lose the 30 lbs she gained by going on Jenny Craig again, how she needs to monitor herself more strictly, and how she will weigh herself every day, even though it is “torturous.”

Then, in the corner of the…

View original post 720 more words

Please feel free to share your experinces & thoughts.

